Domestic gas business

Arrow delivers almost 20 per cent of Queensland's gas. We own and operate one gas-fired power station and have off-take rights at two others, giving us 600MW of net generation capacity which is enough to power 800,000 average-sized Queensland homes.

Electricity generation

Arrow holds 100 per cent interest in the Braemar 2 Power Station and the electricity generated. We also generate electricity under long-term Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) with the Daandine and Townsville power stations. Arrow has a 100 per cent and 50 per cent interest in electricity sales from the Daandine and Townsville power stations, respectively.

The Braemar 2, Daandine and Townsville power stations have capacities of 450MW, 33MW and 234MW, respectively. Arrow's interest in these power stations follows.

Braemar 2 Power Station

Arrow jointly developed the 450MW Braemar 2 Power Station with ERM Power in 2009, acquiring 100 per cent ownership in July 2011. It consists of three 150MW open-cycle gas turbines and a 110km dedicated high pressure gas pipeline through which Arrow and third parties can feed gas.

Located about 40km south west of Dalby in south east Queensland, Braemar 2 currently provides three to four per cent of Queensland's electricity. It is fired by coal seam gas (CSG) from our Daandine and Tipton West gas fields in the Surat Basin at a rate of approximately 15 petajoules per annum (PJ/a), enough to power more than 200,000 households each year. The power station operates as a peak and shoulder period generator.

Daandine Power Station

The Daandine Power Station is owned and operated by Energy Infrastructure Investments (EII), however all current and future capacity is contracted to Arrow which pays a tolling fee for using the power station.

Arrow currently sells all electricity generated to Origin Energy under a long-term PPA.

Townsville Power Station

The Townsville Power Station, owned by RATCH-Australia and operated by Transfield Worley Power Services, is a 234MW combined cycle gas turbine plant, located at Yabulu, near Townsville. Arrow and AGL are sole providers of gas to the station and share rights to all electricity generated at the power station.

CSG for the power station is supplied wholly from the Moranbah Gas Project Joint Venture and transported to Townsville via the North Queensland Gas Pipeline.

CSG production

Arrow's domestic gas business has five gas production fields — one in the Bowen Basin and four in the Surat Basin:

  • Moranbah Gas Project
  • Tipton West Project
  • Kogan Project
  • Daandine Project
  • Stratheden Project. 

For more information please refer to our interactive map of current operations and domestic gas activities.

In this section

Page last updated: 25 January 2017